The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   Your basket is empty
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Asociacion Espanola de Profesores de Derecho Internacional y Relaciones Internacionales
The "Spanish Yearbook of International Law" brings together information concerning Spanish legal practice and a bibliography over the period of one year and makes it available to an international readership. It aims To serve as a vehicle for furthering knowledge of Spanish practice in the field of international law among an audience with no knowledge of Spanish. It deals with both private and public international law, taken in a broad sense to include summary treatment of international organizations of which Spain is a member. N.B.Base of spine slightly bumped.548pp.
Martinus Nijhoff Publishers, 2002, Cloth, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9041118403
Add To Basket
Inventory #14770
Price: £ 70.00 GBP ($ 90.30 approx. - € 77.35 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Lam,S.K.
This text, the proceedings of Falk Symposium 90 held in Hong Kong, February 29-March 1, 1996, presents the most recent advances in all major fields of hepatology. World experts discuss basic and clinical aspects of viral hepatitis, toxic, metabolic and cholestatic liver diseases, liver cirrhosis, hepatocellular carcinoma, gallstone disease and liver transplantation. In the two sections devoted to viral hepatitis, special attention is given to hepatitis C. Besides interferon, new antiviral therapies are discussed. In the section on toxic and metabolic liver diseases, besides drug-induced liver injuries and inborn errors of metabolism, alcoholic liver disease is of special interest. Current interventional treatments for portal hypertension and ascites are discussed in the section on cirrhosis. In the section on hepatocellular carcinoma different therapeutic strategies are compared. An update on pathogenesis and treatment of gallstone disease is also included. The text concludes with a section addressing the newest trends in liver transplantation. Thus, this book presents the an update on hepatobiliary diseases in Asia in 1996. N.B.D/J spine slightly faded with slight mark to base of d/j spine.312pp.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1996, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: Very Good. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0792387155
Add To Basket
Inventory #15668
Price: £ 20.00 GBP ($ 25.80 approx. - € 22.10 approx.)
Book Image
N.B. Very slight fingerprint marks to covers. 41pp.
Lucas Schoormans Gallery, 2004, Paperback, Book Condition: Fine, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 0970897731
Add To Basket
Inventory #23555
Price: £ 25.00 GBP ($ 32.25 approx. - € 27.63 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.13 approx. - € 13.81 approx.)
Book Image
De Winne, Lena
The author has the distinction of being the only wife of a European astronaut who has also worked in the area of human spaceflight. Her story is told from a unique perspective. Lena De Winne provides a first-hand account of the ins and outs of the complex astronaut spaceflight system. This book captures the individual stories of crewmembers Roman Romanenko, Bob Thirsk, Frank De Winne and their spouses Julia, Brenda and Lena, as they prepare and embark on a unique spaceflight mission. Delivered with raw emotional intensity, it reads like a novel, sharing the aspirations, anguish, surprises and disappointments of its subjects. Yet it is resolutely biographical, offering a vivid recollection of events as they happened. An easy but precise overview of space science and technology is also provided. Readers will not only become familiarised with the human space flight program, they will also be left with an exhilarating sense of having been a part of the adventure. The book is suffused with an intimacy and honesty that renders the lives of the crew and their spouses in an unprecedented light. 172pp.
Apogee Books, 2010, Paperback, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. First English Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781926837093
Add To Basket
Inventory #27572
Price: £ 9.50 GBP ($ 12.26 approx. - € 10.50 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.