The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Weir, Christopher
148pp.
Phillimore, 1991, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: Like New. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0850337925
Add To Basket
Inventory #19339
Price: £ 9.50 GBP ($ 12.54 approx. - € 11.02 approx.)
Book Image
Collis, John
192pp.
B.T. Batsford, 1984, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: Like New. First Edition. . 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 0713434511
Add To Basket
Inventory #19039
Price: £ 15.00 GBP ($ 19.80 approx. - € 17.40 approx.)
Book Image
Bullock, Karen O.; Tilley, Nick
Problem-oriented policing has been one of the most significant new approaches to policing and crime reduction in recent years, and in the UK significant funding was provided to a variety of projects adopting a problem solving methodology in both policing and crime prevention and reduction partnerships as part of the government's Crime Reduction Programme. This book aims to draw upon the main findings of this initiative, to provide an overview of the government's Targeted Policing Initiative as a whole, to describe findings about the adoption of a problem solving approach, and to indicate what was learned from efforts to address the specific problems targeted in the evaluated initiatives. 311pp. N.B. Corners of boards slightly bumped.
Willan Publishing, 2003, Cloth, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No Jacket. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 1843920506
Add To Basket
Inventory #28781
Price: £ 20.00 GBP ($ 26.40 approx. - € 23.20 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.50 approx. - € 14.50 approx.)
Book Image
Oppenheimer, Paul
Guilt makes no compromises. One may be a little in love or a little bit angry, but the idea of degrees of guilt is meaningless. Any guilt, whether of the emotional, religious or legal variety, is fiendishly intense. The word itself points to a mysterious intensity of indebtedness, and this with an absolution extraordinary in human affairs. This book aims to go to the heart of the mystery. Its theme, that of the absolutism of guilt, is explored from a variety of different perspectives and through a series of anecdotes. The author examines the sources of the word "guilt"; languages and cultures without the concept of guilt; the religious importance and meaning of guilt, in Judaism, Christianity and other religions; psychological investigations of guilt, by Freud and Jung, among others; guilt and criminal behaviour; guilt and mourning; the effect of guilt as a creative stimulant in modern times, on literature, art, politics, law and film; and the mysterious persistence of guilt in modern secular societies Throughout, the text is supported with quotations from authors ancient and modern. 127pp.
Duckworth, 1997, Cloth, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: Very Good. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0715627597
Add To Basket
Inventory #26691
Price: £ 5.00 GBP ($ 6.60 approx. - € 5.80 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.