The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Buchanan, Donald W.
N.B.Includes 29 page Catalogue Raisonne. Top corner of front cover creased. Small tear to head and tail of spine. Reading creases to spine. Corners rubbed. Mark to rear and front covers. Bookplate to ffep.187pp.
The Ryerson Press, 1936, Paperback, Book Condition: Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN:
Add To Basket
Inventory #23789
Price: £ 30.00 GBP ($ 39.60 approx. - € 34.80 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.50 approx. - € 14.50 approx.)
Book Image
Cameron, Shelia
This is a guide to recognizing your own philosophy and ideas of management, using a range of self-development methods. It cultivates a healthy scepticism for accepted management theories and provides an evaluation of new management ideas and demonstrates how to customise them to suit your own needs. This is a topical theme for managers when organizations are encouraging self-development programmes through a combination of academic study, open learning, training programmes, mentoring and vocational qualifications.
Butterworth Heinemann, 1997, Paperback, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0750627794
Add To Basket
Inventory #29440
Price: £ 7.50 GBP ($ 9.90 approx. - € 8.70 approx.)
Book Image
Marsh, John
N.B. Corners slightly bumped. 160pp.
Alan Sutton, 1991, Paperback, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" Tall.
ISBN: 0750900253
Add To Basket
Inventory #29298
Price: £ 7.50 GBP ($ 9.90 approx. - € 8.70 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Rainsford,K.D.
295pp.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1991, Cloth/Laminated Boards, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. Second Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0792389115
Add To Basket
Inventory #15264
Price: £ 10.00 GBP ($ 13.20 approx. - € 11.60 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.