The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Exhibition catalogue palazzo strozzi 9 dicembre 1971 - 15 gennaio 1972 .
Palazzo Strozzi, 1972, Paperback, Book Condition: Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN:
Add To Basket
Inventory #26542
Price: £ 10.00 GBP ($ 13.20 approx. - € 11.60 approx.)
Book Image
Cross, Rosemary James
Percy Leonard James was one of Victoria, British Columbia's preeminent architects through the early decades of the twentieth century. This well-researched biography, written by his daughter, chronicles James' personal and professional life from his early days in England to his becoming one of Victoria's most influential designers. As James' work is often overshadowed by his contemporary architects, Samuel Maclure and Francis Mawson Rattenbury, this book is long overdue and, in some instances, sets the record straight.220pp.
Dear Brutus Publishing, 2005, Paperback, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0973725907
Add To Basket
Inventory #17630
Price: £ 15.00 GBP ($ 19.80 approx. - € 17.40 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Puri, Ina
The pictorial world of Rini Dhumal is an amalgam of myth and realism, where nostalgia and sombre tones meet to create powerful protagonists that exude raw primal energy. We see representations of memory and recollection, distilled by her imagination which emerges from deep convictions and courage. Incarnations of the quintessential Indian Woman, quiet, with aloof confidence and devoid of any fragility, dominate the earthy landscapes. Stories of displacement, chance encounters and tales of far-away lands, integrating with symbolism and perception, are all part of her oeuvre. One comes upon, at once, the universality and intimate familiarity in the fluid forms. Trained as a painter, Rini Dhumal has experimented with every conceivable medium ranging from print-making, graphics and ceramics, with fantastic results, and created a cultural vocabulary uniquely her own. Her sketchbooks, with jottings of her initial responses before they take shape as paintings or other artworks, reveal the coming together of her hand and spirit. Drawing upon a storehouse of historical details, the splendours of her childhood, and anecdotal references from various travels, she creates a vivid aesthetic in her art-making. 248pp. N.B. Corners very slightly bumped.
Mapin Publishing, 2010, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . Heavy Item Postage Quote. 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 9781935677062
Add To Basket
Inventory #27605
Price: £ 30.00 GBP ($ 39.60 approx. - € 34.80 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Slavitt, David R. And Bovie, Palmer
The Penn Greek Drama Series presents original literary translations of the entire corpus of classical Greek drama: tragedies, comedies, and satyr plays. It is the only contemporary series of all the surviving work of Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides, Aristophanes, and Menander. 284pp.
University of Pennsylvania Press, 1998, Paperback, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0812216539
Add To Basket
Inventory #26035
Price: £ 10.00 GBP ($ 13.20 approx. - € 11.60 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.50 approx. - € 14.50 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.