The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
This yearbook aims to provide an intellectual forum for the systematic analysis and scientific dissection of issues of international law as they apply to Africa, as well as Africa's contribution to the progressive development of international law. It contributes to the promotion, acceptance of and respect for the principles of international law, as well as to the encouragement of the teaching, study, dissemination and wider appreciations of international law in Africa. The yearbook examines the tensions underlying the State in Africa, and examines the causes of the fragility of African State institutions so as to facilitate the identification of appropriate remedies. The tension and interrelationships among issues such as territorial integrity, self determination, ethnic diversity and nation-building are addressed. Development, human rights and democratization in Africa are also the subject of attention and examination. The special theme of this volume is "Refugees and Displaced Persons in Africa". 541pp.
Kluwer Law International, 2001, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9041116591
Add To Basket
Inventory #15489
Price: £ 90.00 GBP ($ 118.80 approx. - € 104.40 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Zhenghua,Tao and Wolfrum,Rudiger
Although all states agree that sustainable development must be provided for at the international level, it is still impossible to foresee which environmental problems are to be dealt with by the community of States rather than by states individually. The all-important debate over the development of specific measures enforceable under international law is just beginning. This book takes a major step in the progress of that debate toward a genuine global commitment to the protection of the earth and of future generations. The essays represent a confluence of expert scholarly opinion on this vital subject in two of the world's most populous and powerful countries. The outcome of a symposium in Beijing in September 1999, organized jointly by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and the German Research Association, the book emphasizes the urgent need for international co-ooperation without losing sight of the inevitable restrictions on state sovereignty inherent in solving environmental problems. 200pp.
Kluwer Law International, 2001, Cloth/Laminated Boards, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9041198431
Add To Basket
Inventory #14824
Price: £ 40.00 GBP ($ 52.80 approx. - € 46.40 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.50 approx. - € 14.50 approx.)
Book Image
Gearon, Liam
This book examines the complex relationship between religion and human rights. 404pp.
Sussex Academic Press, 2002, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 1902210948
Add To Basket
Inventory #19985
Price: £ 25.00 GBP ($ 33.00 approx. - € 29.00 approx.)
Book Image
Johnston, S.F.; Divall, Colin
Chemical engineering - as a recognized skill in the workplace, as an academic discipline, and as an acknowledged profession - is scarcely a century old. Yet from a contested existence before the First World War, chemical engineering had become one of the "big four" engineering professions in Britain, and a major contributor to Western economies by the end of the 20th century. The subject had distinct national trajectories. In Britain - too long seen as shaped by American experiences - the emergence of recognized chemical engineers was the result of professional aspirations and contingency, and shaped by a shifting ecology of institutions, firms and government. Drawing upon extensive archival research, this book examines the evolution of technical practice, working environment and social interactions of chemical engineering. It should be of considerable interest to historians, sociologists of the professions, and to practitioners themselves. Volume 20 in Chemists and Chemistry series.347pp.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2001, Cloth/Laminated Boards, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0792366921
Add To Basket
Inventory #14520
Price: £ 75.00 GBP ($ 99.00 approx. - € 87.00 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.