The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Peat, Neville; Patrick, Brian
This title contains numerous colour photographs and narrative descriptions to create a portrait of the geography of the Central South Island. The chapters describe the glaciers of the area, the mountains, the rivers, the ranges, the highest peaks, and conservation concerns. The wildlife of the area is prominently featured. 141pp.
University of Otago Press, 2001, Paperback, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: . Reissue. . 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 1877276154
Add To Basket
Inventory #14178
Price: £ 10.00 GBP ($ 12.90 approx. - € 11.05 approx.)
Book Image
Gordon, Avery F. And Newfield, Christopher Editors
Previous owner's signature on ffep.What is multiculturalism? The word is used everywhere, often without being clearly defined. This text offers critiques of the term and its uses by leading scholars in sociology, history, literary criticism, popular culture studies, ethnic studies, and critical legal studies. The contributors look at current uses of the rubric "multicultural" and offer analyses of complex relationships between popular culture, political events, and intellectual trends. Featuring essays by authors, activists, artists, and theoreticians, this book represents a range of multicultural studies today through essays that demarcate the cutting edge of contemporary cultural politics. 491pp.
University of Minnesota Press, 1996, Paperback, Book Condition: Fine, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0816625476
Add To Basket
Inventory #24783
Price: £ 15.00 GBP ($ 19.35 approx. - € 16.58 approx.)
Book Image
Saarelma-Maunumaa,Minna
What are the most popular names of the Ambo people in Namibia? Why do so many Ambos have Finnish first names? What do the African names of these people mean? Why is the namesake so important in Ambo culture? How did the long independence struggle affect personal naming, and what are the latest name-giving trends in Namibia? This study analyses the changes in the personal naming system of the Ambo people in Namibia over the last 120 years, starting from the year 1883 when the first Ambos received biblical and European names at baptism. The central factors in this process were the German and South African colonisation and European missionary work on the one hand, and the rise of African nationalism on the other hand. Eventually, this clash between African and European naming practices led to a new and dynamic naming system which includes elements of both African and European origin. 373pp.
Finnish Literature Society, 2003, Paperback, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: . First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9517465297
Add To Basket
Inventory #11781
Price: £ 18.00 GBP ($ 23.22 approx. - € 19.89 approx.)
Book Image
Potugali, Juval
Cities are often seen as symbols of order: the existence of city walls, fortified gates, palaces, temples, roads, pavements, highways, public institutions, city centers and residential areas is interpreted as indicating the existence of a central authority that plans and controls the city. On the other hand, the very same cities are also seen as symbols of chaos, disorder and spontaneous growth. The little winding streets and alleys, the mixture of physical structures, styles and human activities have often given the impression that cities, like forests, and other natural entities are organic structures - strange 'natural artefacts'. Tokyo is a good example for this dual nature of cities. When you first encounter it, you get the impression of chaos: old buildings with one or two storeys next to 30-, 40- or 50-storey skyscrapers; pedestrians, cars, trains moving in all directions, each with its own trajectory and so on. But then you realise that this seemingly chaotic structure provides a context for perfectly ordered human activities: trains leave and arrive as timetabled, their doors open at the exact points that are marked with yellow lines on the platforms, every morning after midnight fishermen bring their catch to Tokyo's big fish market, auctions are held, and by six o'clock in the morning this huge amount of sea food has already been distributed among thousands of restaurants all over the city. And if you look deeper you learn that the chaotic face of Tokyo is the pre-condition for its ordered and organised life. Complexity theory or self-organisation theory are umbrella terms for a set of theories that study the interplay between chaos and order. Originating in the sciences, these theories have been applied to the study of cities in the last three decades. They show that as in natural systems, in the artificial systems that we call cities, chaos and order do not stand in opposition to each other. Rather, they coexist in an ongoing interplay of circular causality: chaos is the precondition for new urban orders to emerge and then to reproduce themselves, whereas order and organisation set the boundaries within which chaotic structures and behaviours can take place.60pp.
Axel Menges, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. . 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 9783936681277
Add To Basket
Inventory #20775
Price: £ 20.00 GBP ($ 25.80 approx. - € 22.10 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.13 approx. - € 13.81 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.