The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.13 approx. - € 13.81 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Lightman,Susan
171pp.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1989, Cloth/Laminated Boards, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0792389085
Add To Basket
Inventory #15164
Price: £ 40.00 GBP ($ 51.60 approx. - € 44.20 approx.)
Book Image
Moi, Toril
N.B. Previous owners inscription to ffep. Some underlining and annotation. 206pp.
Routledge, 1991, Paperback, Book Condition: Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. Reprint. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0415029740
Add To Basket
Inventory #26755
Price: £ 5.00 GBP ($ 6.45 approx. - € 5.53 approx.)
Book Image
Alikhan, Shahid; Mashelkar, Raghunath
It is common knowledge that intellectual property rights lie at the heart of the global economy. But in what way exactly? The literature in the fields has burgeoned dramatically in recent years, and we have a surfeit of work that either focuses on narrow aspects or sweeps over broad legal regimes from the perspectives of particulars stakeholders. Here for the first time is a panoramic but detailed view of the world's intellectual property system that embraces socioeconomic, cultural and technological development in its scope, clarifying the pitfalls and challenges that the system presents even as it promises to improve the quality of life on our planet. The authors, both internationally respected and honoured for their work in elucidating the economic necessity of an intellectual property system that can inspire universal confidence, emphasise the imperative of international competitiveness in knowledge-based technology.217pp.
Kluwer Law International, 2004, Cloth/Laminated Boards, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9041121196
Add To Basket
Inventory #14763
Price: £ 40.00 GBP ($ 51.60 approx. - € 44.20 approx.)
Book Image
Herman, John
Sir Eric Phipps was British Ambassador in Berlin (1933-37) and at Paris (1937-39) - two key ambassadorships which spanned the crucial period between Hitler's advent to power and the outbreak of the Second World War. This book explains the striking contrast between his reputation as a staunch anti-Nazi and an 'anti-appeaser' in Berlin, and as a 'defeatist-appeaser' in Paris. 276pp. N.B. Slight crease to front D/J.
Sussex Academic Press, 1998, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: As New. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 1902210042
Add To Basket
Inventory #28040
Price: £ 25.00 GBP ($ 32.25 approx. - € 27.63 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.