The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.13 approx. - € 13.81 approx.)
Book Image
Cygan, Adam Jan
The acquisition of increased powers by the European Parliament has raised the spectre of a "competition legislature" for national parliaments, and even the threat of a democratic deficit at the national level. At this moment, the author of this book suggests, it is vital to recognize and reinforce the ways in which the institutions of the European Union are politically accountable to member States. In this analysis of the participation by domestic legislatures in policy-making and legislative processes at the European level, Adam Jan Cygan focuses on the evolving means by which the legislatures of Germany and the United Kingdom are responding to the increased competence of the European Union. This technique allows him to highlight such factors as: the procedures of European scrutiny committees in the United Kingdom Houses of Parliament and the German Bundestag; the accountability of national ministers for decisions taken in the European Council of Ministers; the role of sub-national governments, as revealed in both the formal federal system of Germany and the devolved administrations of the United Kingdom, in European affairs; and the continuing impact of Treaty provisions and informal co-operation between member States. This text demonstrates that, contrary to some prevailing beliefs, national parliaments are not necessarily destined to become mere administrative institutions. In fact, the national initiatives and procedures analyzed here reveal a firm commitment to compel the attention of the European Commission and the European Parliament toward national and even sub-national accountability. However, as in all political matters, vigilance and tenacity are necessary to prevent erosion of democracy and national legislative competence. This book aims to enable all interested parties legislators, policy-makers, government officials at all levels, academics, and others to proceed knowledgeably and confidently in this important area. 249pp.
Kluwer Law International, 2001, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 904111629X
Add To Basket
Inventory #14748
Price: £ 35.00 GBP ($ 45.15 approx. - € 38.68 approx.)
Book Image
Goldsmith, Zac
The earth's resources are finite, climate change threatens to dramatically transform how and where we live, and the global economic system is in disarray. One way or another we have to change. In this brilliant and timely book Zac Goldsmith argues here for the creation of what he calls 'a constant economy'. Since the industrial revolution, our economies have grown at the expense of the natural world. We can deny the need for change, in which case we will be at the mercy of events and the adjustments will be harsh. Or, as this book shows, there is an alternative. A 'constant economy' is one in which resources are valued not wasted, where food is grown sustainably and goods are built to last. It is a system whose energy security is based on the use of renewable sources, and communities are valued as a country's strongest hedge against social, economic and environmental instability. The constant economy operates at the human scale, and above all it recognizes nature's limits. Zac Goldsmith's landmark book will explain and inspire. He shows that almost everything that needs be done to support the environment is already being done somewhere in the world. And where companies, communities and even governments have blazed a trail, they have not only done the right thing, their customers - and their voters - have rewarded them for doing the right thing. Solutions exist, they work, and they are laid out in this ground-breaking book. 200pp.
Atlantic Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781848870673
Add To Basket
Inventory #20583
Price: £ 10.00 GBP ($ 12.90 approx. - € 11.05 approx.)
Book Image
Schiffer, Walter
367pp.
Columbia University Press, 1954, Cloth, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No Jacket. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN:
Add To Basket
Inventory #28638
Price: £ 30.00 GBP ($ 38.70 approx. - € 33.15 approx.)
Book Image
Preface By Huang, Kuang-nan
reading crease to spine. very slight rubbing to corners of covers. 173pp.
National Museum of History, 1995, Paperback, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 9570056886
Add To Basket
Inventory #21074
Price: £ 20.00 GBP ($ 25.80 approx. - € 22.10 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.