The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Revivi, Menachem; Kopelowitz, Ezra
At a time when Jewish communities have become increasingly anxious about weakening Jewish identity, one response strategy is to engage with the concept of Jewish Peoplehood as a social phenomenon, in its varied contexts and processes. This volume represents the first in-depth effort to address the concept of Jewish peoplehood since the initial attempts of early 20th century Jewish intellectuals, Mordechai Kaplan and Salo Baron. Indeed, its substance goes far beyond the range of a contemporary academic anthology - constituting, rather, a dynamic think tank on the concept of Jewish peoplehood through bringing together intellectuals from France, Israel, the UK, and the United States.This collection offers both intellectual and practical frameworks for grappling with the policy outcomes of different understandings of the peoplehood concept, and contributors to this volume include noted figures from diverse walks of life: academic disciplines in the social sciences and humanities, a rabbi, a literary figure, and communal leaders. 169pp.
Academic Studies Press, 2008, Cloth/Laminated Boards, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781934843246
Add To Basket
Inventory #19976
Price: £ 35.00 GBP ($ 42.00 approx. - € 37.10 approx.)
Book Image
Dybeck, Maurice
Corners slightly creasd. Some faint scratches to rear cover. 164pp.
Brathay Hall Trust, 1996, Paperback, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. First Edition. . 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 095292000X
Add To Basket
Inventory #23164
Price: £ 10.00 GBP ($ 12.00 approx. - € 10.60 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 15.00 approx. - € 13.25 approx.)
Book Image
Cocks, Joan E.
Draws together elements from Marxism, analytical philosophy, post-structuralism and post-colonial criticism to analyse cultural domination, opposition and the ways in which power and eroticism interact in the realm of sex and gender. This book should be of interest to students and teachers of women's studies, social and political theory, philosophy, literary theory, cultural studies. 245pp. N.B. Previous owners inscription to ffep. Corners of covers slightly creased. Fading to spine.
Routledge, 1989, Paperback, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0415032067
Add To Basket
Inventory #25070
Price: £ 9.50 GBP ($ 11.40 approx. - € 10.07 approx.)
Book Image
Metzger, Christine
GERMAN TEXT.Bavaria's third largest city is located at the confluence of three rivers and is surrounded by natural reserves and forests. Founded in 15BC, it is the second oldest settlement in Germany. The old town contains a variety of important buildings including the town hall and a series of churches that characterise the culture of the city. It includes twenty 360 panoramic photos which can be folded out to a length of over one metre.Top inch of spine slightly dented.
NZVP Books, 2008, Cloth, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9783938446195
Add To Basket
Inventory #18643
Price: £ 20.00 GBP ($ 24.00 approx. - € 21.20 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.