The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Bentley, Eric
Examines Shaw's writings on politics and economics, briefly describes his life, and analyzes his major plays. 204pp.
Limelight Editions, 1985, Paperback, Book Condition: Fine, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. First Edition with This Publisher. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0879100370
Add To Basket
Inventory #23908
Price: £ 6.00 GBP ($ 7.82 approx. - € 6.63 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.29 approx. - € 13.81 approx.)
Book Image
Zhou, Zhongfei
This work conducts a critical examination of Chinese foreign banking law in the context of the international convergence of supervisory standards and practices. If China is to develop a modern and viable banking sector, it needs to put in place a suitable legal infrastructure which is consistent with emerging international supervisory standards, WTO requirements and aspirations for financial sector liberalization. The author argues that the current foreign banking laws are fundamentally out of line with international standards and practices in a number of respects and that legislators and supervisors do not at present appreciate or cultivate commonly accepted supervisory values. The author therefore proposes a set of reforms that would at the same time create a legal environment for competitive equality between foreign banks and protect the safety and soundness of the Chinese banking system. The issues considered include the licensing process for the entry of foreign banks into the Chinese market, the ongoing regulation of foreign banks and foreign bank crisis management or bank failure resolution. The author offers a proposed framework of Chinese foreign banking law which should be of great benefit to existing and prospective foreign banks in China. 241pp.
Kluwer Law International, 2001, Cloth/Laminated Boards, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9041198385
Add To Basket
Inventory #14921
Price: £ 45.00 GBP ($ 58.64 approx. - € 49.73 approx.)
Book Image
Kruk, Laurie (editor)
Literature in Canada and from Canada is now achieving an international audience and wide global acclaim. This volume is a 'who's who' of the literary genre known as the short story. Each of these writers is known not just as a short story writer but also as novelist, poet, playwright, novelist. They all represent some of the best and most successful writers in Canada -- from the west coast, through to the east coast. Most of them are now renowned and best-selling authors internationally. 260pp.
Mosaic Press/International Publishers, Incorporated, 2003, Paperback, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: . . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0889627983
Add To Basket
Inventory #18489
Price: £ 5.00 GBP ($ 6.52 approx. - € 5.53 approx.)
Book Image
Priced for the Two Volumes:Volume 115 of the Proceedings of the British Academy contains 20 obituaries of recently deceased Fellows of the British Academy and an essay on James Bryce (President of the Academy, 1913-1917). Memoirs of Fellows have previously been published in the same annual Proceedings volume as that containing the British Academy's Lectures. The Biographical Memoirs are henceforth to be published in a volume of their own, within the Proceedings sequence. 463pp. and 019726302X Volume 120 of the Proceedings of the British Academy contains 25 obituaries of recently deceased Fellows of the British Academy.554pp.Published 2003.
Oxford University Press, 2002, Cloth/Gilt, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. First Edition. Heavy Item Postage Quote. 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0197262783
Add To Basket
Inventory #13261
Price: £ 20.00 GBP ($ 26.06 approx. - € 22.10 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.