The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Edited By Naidu,R.
The Australasia-Pacific region supports approximately 50 per cent of the world's population. The last half-century has witnessed a rapid increase in the regional population, agricultural productivity, industrial activities and trade within the region. Both the demand for increased food production and the desire to improve the economic conditions have affected regional environmental quality. This volume presents an overview of the fate of contaminants in the soil environment; current soil management factors used to control contaminant impacts; issues related to sludge and effluent disposals in the soil environment; legal, health and social impacts of contaminated land; remediation approaches and strategies to manage contaminated land; some of the problems associated with environmental degradation in the Australasia-Pacific Region; and steps that we need to take to safeguard our environment. 717pp.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1996, Cloth/Laminated Boards, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0792339002
Add To Basket
Inventory #14963
Price: £ 95.00 GBP ($ 125.40 approx. - € 110.20 approx.)
Book Image
Hansen, Erik W.
The Synchronic Fallacy introduces a postmodern attitude into the science of language. In accordance with its own Critico-Philological Method the essay is a constructive critique of the transcendent foundationalism of modern synchronic linguistics. Without falling into nihilistic pitfalls of the postmodern mind's antifoundationalism, the author demonstrates both how the static essentialism of modern linguistics turns out to be a transcendent, metaphysical statement of only a section of the everyday language, and how the synchronicity of modern linguistics cannot deliver on its promises to produce empirically relevant and non-shortening descriptions of the dynamic existence of the everyday language. Rehabilitating the Erkenntnisswert of the non-transcendent use of the everyday language - a project with Glossematic, 'Hermeneutical' and 'Deconstructivist' overtones - the Synchronic Fallacy presents an argument against the modern synchronization of historical linguistics and demonstrates the possibility of constructing a historical theory through the introduction of the Existential Function of the everyday language as an implementation of man's temporally structured mind, our historical sense. The essay's critical analyses of the four conceptual pillars of modern, static linguistics -system, structure, state, synchrony - evolve a determination of the temporal-dynamic nature of structure/Structuralism so that the essay's view of our tradition's purported antinomy: 'structure and history', dovetails with the advanced view of language: language change is not to be seen or observed, but comprehended.
Odense University Press, 2001, Paperback, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 8778385822
Add To Basket
Inventory #15537
Price: £ 30.00 GBP ($ 39.60 approx. - € 34.80 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.50 approx. - € 14.50 approx.)
Book Image
Riley, Glenda
In 1984, when Glenda Riley's 'Women and Indians on the Frontier' was published, it was hailed for being the first study to take into account the roles that gender, race, and class played in Indian/white relations during the westward migration. In the twenty years since, the study of those aspects of western history has exploded. "Confronting Race" reflects the changes in western women's history and in the author's own approach. In spite of white women's shifting attitudes toward Indians, they retained colonialist outlooks toward all peoples. Women who migrated West carried deeply ingrained images and preconceptions of themselves and racially based ideas of the non-white groups they would meet. In their letters home and in their personal diaries and journals, they perpetuated racial stereotypes, institutions, and practices. The women also discovered their own resilience in the face of the harsh demands of the West. Although most retained their racist concepts, they came to realise that women need not be passive or fearful in their interactions with Indians. Riley's sources are the diaries and journals of trail women, settlers, army wives, and missionaries, and popular accounts in newspapers and novels. She has also incorporated the literature in the field published since 1984 and a deeper analysis of relationships between white women and Indians in westward expansion.326pp.
University of New Mexico Press, 2004, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: Like New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0826336329
Add To Basket
Inventory #12722
Price: £ 18.00 GBP ($ 23.76 approx. - € 20.88 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Hadziselimovic,F. And Herzog,B.
The 65th Falk Symposium held in Basel was dedicated to the inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD) of children. The emphasis of this book is on the immunological aspect of IBD as well as the current strategies of treatment. There is an additional focus on two other related childhood diseases, Morbus Hirschsprung and neuronal-intestinal dysplasia, both of which are diseases that concern the paediatric surgeon as well as the clinician.N.B.D/J spine slightly faded with slight mark to base of d/j spine.324pp.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1992, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: Very Good. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0792389956
Add To Basket
Inventory #15674
Price: £ 20.00 GBP ($ 26.40 approx. - € 23.20 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.