The Humanities
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Jackson, Maggie
This splendid collection of designer handknits features photographs shot in beautiful Northern Ireland. With more than 40 projects, there are pieces suited for every season and shape that take knitters from the beach to the ballroom. Jackson brings a fashion designer's approach to handknits, showing knitters how simple stitches can create lines and blocks of texture. Traditional yarns - Irish tweeds and linens - and a few exotics materials such as strips of chambray, denim, gingham, and fur are combined to create innovative designs for women, men, and children. Highlighting each design are photographs from locations around Northern Ireland, including Giant's Causeway, Mussenden Temple, the Mourne Mountains, Queen's University, the Ulster Folk Museum, and historic Slieve Donard Hotel. 174pp.
XRX Books, 2004, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 1893762181
Add To Basket
Inventory #27355
Price: £ 18.00 GBP ($ 23.45 approx. - € 19.89 approx.)
Book Image
Knight, Jonathan
The Kent State University Press, 2009, Paperback, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781606350119
Add To Basket
Inventory #27680
Price: £ 9.50 GBP ($ 12.38 approx. - € 10.50 approx.)
Book Image
Springer, 2006, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781402057014
Add To Basket
Inventory #14698
Price: £ 130.00 GBP ($ 169.39 approx. - € 143.65 approx.)
Book Image
Symons, Caroline
The Gay Games is an important piece of new social history, examining one of the largest sporting, cultural and human rights events in the world. Since their inception in 1980, the Gay Games have developed into a multi-million dollar mega-event, engaging people from all continents, while the international Gay Games movement has become one of the largest and most significant international institutions for gay and lesbian people. Drawing on detailed archival research, oral history and participant observation techniques, and informed by critical feminist theory and queer theory, this book offers the first comprehensive history of the Gay Games from 1980 through to the Chicago games of 2006. It explores the significance of the Games in the context of broader currents of gay and lesbian history, and addresses a wide range of key contemporary themes within sports studies, including the cultural politics of sport, the politics of difference and identity, and the rise of sporting mega-events. This book is important reading for any serious student of international sport or gender and sexuality studies.
Routledge, 2010, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9780415472968
Add To Basket
Inventory #27670
Price: £ 60.00 GBP ($ 78.18 approx. - € 66.30 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.29 approx. - € 13.81 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.