The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Hettinga, Kathy T.
Beginning in 1994, award-winning photographer and installation artist Kathy T Hettinga began a fourteen-year project to document an unknown body of funerary folk art displayed in the cemeteries of rural and largely Hispanic communities in the San Luis Valley in southern Colorado. Her photographs of unique grave markers made of wood, concrete, metal, sandstone, glass and other materials by individuals or families to commemorate the passing of love ones capture the ethereal beauty of the cemeteries and serve as a touchstone for our common understanding of loss, grief, and the need to memorialise and pay tribute. 178pp.
Museum of New Mexico Press, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: Like New. First Edition. Heavy Item Postage Quote. 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 9780890135617
Add To Basket
Inventory #24206
Price: £ 25.00 GBP ($ 32.25 approx. - € 27.63 approx.)
Book Image
Darwin, Charles; Edited By Glick, Thomas F and Kohn, David
Designed for use in a broad range of courses in the humanities, Darwin's theory is laid out in a concise general introduction and followed up in short chapter introductions. Each chapter concludes with an excerpt from Darwin's correspondence, commenting on the work in question, and its significance, impact, and reception. Two short appendixes are included - the first three chapters from Malthus, 'On Population', which gave Darwin the idea for natural selection and the paper by Wallace that motivated Darwin to abandon the "Big Species Book" and write "Origin of Species". 356pp.
Hackett Publishing Company, 1996, Paperback, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9780872202856
Add To Basket
Inventory #27549
Price: £ 7.50 GBP ($ 9.68 approx. - € 8.29 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.13 approx. - € 13.81 approx.)
Book Image
Probst, Gilbert J. B.; Buchel, Bettina S. T.

Prentice Hall, 1997, Paperback, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0134623266
Add To Basket
Inventory #29429
Price: £ 6.00 GBP ($ 7.74 approx. - € 6.63 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Wilson, Katharina M. And Warnke, Frank J.
An encyclopedia of 1800 notable women writers in 30 languages, including the authors of novels, short stories, religious tracts, poetry, plays, criticism, social commentary, erotica and epigrams, arranged in alphabetical order and cross-referenced by pseudonym. In signed entries, scholars examine the facts and achievements of the writers' lives, evaluate individual works and place artistic efforts in historical and social context. Each essay is followed by a bibliography of primary and secondary works and a list of English translations. Indexes are by language, nationality, genre and chronology.Previous owner's signature on ffep.1389pp.Priced for the Two Volume Set.
St James Press, 1991, Cloth, Book Condition: Fine, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . Heavy Item Postage Quote. 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 1558621512
Add To Basket
Inventory #26832
Price: £ 30.00 GBP ($ 38.70 approx. - € 33.15 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.