The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Snively, Commander Sheri
War exposes the divide between who we think we are and how we behave in extreme situations. Sheri Snively, who served as a Quaker chaplain with the U.S. Navy, has crafted a vivid, unsettling, and ultimately hopeful personal account of the effects of the Iraq war on soldiers and civilians in "Heaven in the Midst of Hell". As she served with the Marines working amid the boredom, ten-sion, and seemingly meaningless carnage at a trauma hospital between Ramadi and Fallujah, Commander Snively experienced first-hand the grim reality of combat. As she recounts the way she and the soldiers around her experience war, she negotiates a compassionate path to healing - marked not by formulaic answers, but by an open and questioning spirit. Illustrated with the author's own evocative photographs, this is a compelling and unforgettable journey into the human soul. 263pp.n.b.Front d/j slightly marked.
Raven Oaks Press, 2010, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: Very Good. First Edition. . 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 9780981992600
Add To Basket
Inventory #23869
Price: £ 15.00 GBP ($ 18.00 approx. - € 15.90 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 15.00 approx. - € 13.25 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Walker,B.C.
Nine papers presented at the 20th Anniversary Meeting of the Society for Drug Research held at the Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, London, Sept. 26, 1986. .120pp.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1988, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0852008392
Add To Basket
Inventory #15238
Price: £ 15.00 GBP ($ 18.00 approx. - € 15.90 approx.)
Book Image
Said, Edward W.
A 'beginning,' especially as embodied in much modern thought, is its own method, Edward Said argues in this classic treatise on the role of the intellectual and the goal of criticism. Distinguishing between 'origin', which is divine, mythical, and privileged, and 'beginning,' which is secular and humanly produced, Said traces the ramifications and diverse understandings of the concept of beginning through history. A beginning is a first step in the intentional production of meaning and the production of difference from preexisting traditions. It authorizes subsequent texts - it both enables them and limits what is acceptable. Drawing on the insights of Vico, Valery, Nietzsche, Saussure, Levi-Strauss, Husserl, and Foucault, Said recognizes the novel as the major attempt in Western literary culture to give beginnings an authorizing function in experience, art, and knowledge.Scholarship should see itself as a beginning - as a uniting of theory and practice. Said's insistence on a criticism that is humane and socially responsible is what makes "Beginnings" a book about much more than writing: it is about imagination and action as well as the constraints on freedom and invention that come from human intention and the method of its fulfillment. 414pp. N.B. Previous owners inscription to ffep.
Columbia University Press, 1985, Paperback, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. Reprint. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 023105937X
Add To Basket
Inventory #24689
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 15.00 approx. - € 13.25 approx.)
Book Image
Zhivov, Victor
Victor Zhivov's magisterial "Language and Culture in Eighteenth-Century Russia" tells the story of the creation of a new vernacular literary language in modern Russia, an achievement arguably on a par with the nation's extraordinary military successes, territorial expansion, development of the arts and formation of a modern empire. The language served as the primary vehicle for Russia's modernization and for its entry into the Western European cultural sphere, and Zhivov demonstrates that the unusually intense debates over it, down to violent disagreements over particular grammatical endings, have profound implications for understanding the basic social, political, and cultural dynamics of the era. "Language and Culture" analyzes the European theories concerning modern literary languages that were transplanted into Russia and demonstrates the ways in which they were creatively transformed when adapted to the complex legacy of medieval and seventeenth-century literary culture. Zhivov traces this creative adaptation from the "hybrid Slavonic" of the late seventeenth century; through Peter the Great's demand for a new Russian vernacular literary language; to the "Slaveno-Russian" linguistic and cultural synthesis of mid-century and the beginnings of a Russian literary tradition; to the early nineteenth-century debates between "archaists and innovators"; and fi nally to the subsequent decoupling of secular and religious language and culture that in his view represented the last echo of eighteenth-century debates. Language and Culture in Eighteenth-Century Russia fundamentally revises much of the received wisdom concerning the development of the literary language and offers fundamentally new perspectives on the genesis and development of modern Russian language, literature, and culture. 506pp. N.B. Head and tail of spine and D/J spine very slightly bumped.
Academic Studies Press, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: Like New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781934843123
Add To Basket
Inventory #27388
Price: £ 35.00 GBP ($ 42.00 approx. - € 37.10 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.