The Humanities
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Edited By Picazo,J.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1990, Paperback, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0746200552
Add To Basket
Inventory #15633
Price: £ 7.50 GBP ($ 9.77 approx. - € 8.29 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Po-wah,Julia Tao Lai
This collection of papers explores one of the central debates in the field of bioethics in the new century. It evaluates the controversy between the claim that there is a common morality accepted by all and the opposing view that there are different moral visions and moral rationalities, within which complex bioethical issues demand a solution. Contributions within this volume offer different approaches and perspectives on the pursuit of global ethics in the new century. They are organized under five major themes. 399pp.
Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2002, Cloth, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: Like New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 1402004982
Add To Basket
Inventory #15196
Price: £ 70.00 GBP ($ 91.21 approx. - € 77.35 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.29 approx. - € 13.81 approx.)
Book Image
Ricoeur, Paul Edited By
A fruitful and insightful study of how language affects how we understand the world, this book is also an indispensable work for all those seeking to retrieve some kind of meaning in uncertain times. 384pp. Corners and head and tail of spine slightly rubbed. Small white label attatched to rear cover.
Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1986, Paperback, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. First British Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0710093292
Add To Basket
Inventory #24560
Price: £ 15.00 GBP ($ 19.55 approx. - € 16.58 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Colodny, Robert G.
N.B. Corners of boards and spine bumped. Foxing to foredge of pages. Chipping with some slight loss to corners of D/J and head and tail of D/J spine. Fading to D/J spine. 362pp.
University of Pittsburgh Press, 1966, Cloth, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: Good. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
Add To Basket
Inventory #29056
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 16.29 approx. - € 13.81 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.