The Humanities Bookstore.com
You are not logged in   |   1 book(s) in basket
About Us Inventory Log In Basket Links

Search our stock
Search Type

Categories
 
Welcome to The Humanities Bookstore
The Humanities Bookstore offers for sale second-hand, new, academic and antiquarian books on the Humanities and Social Sciences and other subjects.
By ordering directly from us through our own website here at the Humanities Bookstore you are guaranteed priority service with preferential postage rates cheaper than through any multi dealer site we list on.
You can currently Search our Stock by Title, Author, Keyword or ISBN.
You can also Browse by Category, by clicking on the category you require, you will then be offered one or more sub categories to refine your selection.
Once you log on, or create a new account, you will be able to make orders via our secure server.
Book Image
Blake, Brian
Reprinted from the Cumberland & Westmorland Antiquarian and Archaeological Society's Transactions Volume LIX-New Series.14pp.Pullouts.
Cumberland & Westmorland Antiquarian and Archaeological Society, 1960, Card Covers, Book Condition: Very Good, Jacket Condition: . . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN:
Add To Basket
Inventory #19057
Price: £ 4.00 GBP ($ 4.80 approx. - € 4.24 approx.)
Book Image
Edited By Code, Lorraine, Mullett, Sheila and Overall, Christine
N.B.Some underlining.Previous owner's name on ffep.
University of Toronto Press, 1988, Paperback, Book Condition: Good, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 0802066682
Add To Basket
Inventory #26251
Price: £ 5.00 GBP ($ 6.00 approx. - € 5.30 approx.)
Book Image
Hayes, Gareth
190pp.
Hayloft, 2004, Paperback, Book Condition: Like New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. First Edition. . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 1904524184
Add To Basket
Inventory #29595
Price: £ 18.00 GBP ($ 21.60 approx. - € 19.08 approx.)
Book Image
Nansen, Ralph
Presenting a bold solution for global climate change and dependence on oil - and the threat of war over its diminishing supply - this visionary reference explores how developing solar energy could bring about unprecedented economic prosperity and opportunity on a global scale. By using existing technology in revolutionary ways, this new energy plan would have the potential to create jobs and revitalise the economy while offering a clean, affordable, and long-term solution. Asserting that the current generation can develop this innovative energy source to change the world economically, environmentally, and politically for the better, this stunning guide offers an unexpected new hope for the future. 203pp.
Apogee Books, 2009, Paperback, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: No d/j as Published. . . 4to - over 9" - 12" tall.
ISBN: 9781926592060
Add To Basket
Inventory #21905
Price: £ 6.99 GBP ($ 8.39 approx. - € 7.41 approx.)
Book Image
Cerveny, Randy
Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilisation disappear: if the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dustbowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy. 328pp.
Prometheus Books, 2009, Cloth, Book Condition: New, Jacket Condition: New. . . 8vo - over 7" - 9" tall.
ISBN: 9781591027201
Add To Basket
Inventory #21954
Price: £ 12.50 GBP ($ 15.00 approx. - € 13.25 approx.)
The Humanities Bookstore is a specialist internet department of Fireside Bookshop , based at 1 The Arcade, High Street, Littlehampton, West Sussex, BN17 5AB, U.K.
For more information and any enquiries, you can email us at info@thehumanitiesbookstore.com or phone +44 (0)1903 721985.